Skip to content

Book Review – The Girl Who Came Home to Cornwall by Emma Burstall @HoZ_Books @VickyJoss1 #BookReview #BlogTour #contemporary

Many thanks to Victoria Joss and publisher Head of Zeus for my spot on this Blog Tour.

A sweet book where a beautiful visitor from Mexico shook the entire village of Tremarnock.

Chabela came home to Cornwall to trace her ancestry and to heal from a broken heart. And in that process found a best friend in Liz. The other characters added to the story with their relationships.

My first book by Emma Burstall, this was the sixth in the series, I liked how a stranger could kickstart the village with her appearance. Some were friendly, some suspicious. I loved how the author showed her expertise in writing about two different cultures.

The story had the different characters, who took time to let me into their lives to understand their story. I was a newcomer too. Lives shown were an added layer to the richness of the story.

Emma Burstall is a detailed storyteller with the varied characters woven and places described. I liked how emotions for the new exotic visitor were shown via the others. The characters were many and new to me, so it was a slow read for me.

Overall, it was enjoyable to read about different lives on a cosy Sunday afternoon.

I received a free ARC from NetGalley and publisher, and this is my journey into its pages, straight from the heart!! STRICTLY HONEST AND UNBIASED.

All my reviews can be read here

Emma is the bestselling author of six novels – Gym and Slimline, Never Close Your Eyes and The Darling Girls, as well as her Cornish series, Tremarnock, The Cornish Guest House and Tremarnock Summer.

She read English at Cambridge University and began her career as a cub reporter on the Western Morning News in Plymouth, later becoming features editor of Woman and Family Circle.

She has also written extensively for national newspapers and women’s magazines including the Guardian, Independent on Sunday, Red, Good Housekeeping and Woman & Home.

She gets by in French and Spanish and works out – occasionally – at her local gym. After walking her youngest to school, you might also spot her jogging in Richmond Park with some friends. Slowly.

Emma lives in South West London with her husband and they have three children.

She’s currently working on her seventh novel.

Escape to the Cornish coast with a new heartwarming Tremarnock novel, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Philippa Ashley.

In the quaint Cornish village of Tremarnock, Chabela Penhallow arrives for a holiday and to discover more about her Cornish ancestors. But, as always with newcomers to the small seaside town, rumours start to fly about this beautiful stranger. Is there more to her than meets the eye?

Meanwhile, Rob and Liz Hart’s marriage is on the rocks, but only one of them knows the real reason. Once the secret is out, will they be able to handle the repercussions or will it destroy their life together?

For the residents of Tremarnock, the revelations will either bond or break them – forever.

Publication Date: December 2019

Publisher: Head of Zeus

5 thoughts on “Book Review – The Girl Who Came Home to Cornwall by Emma Burstall @HoZ_Books @VickyJoss1 #BookReview #BlogTour #contemporary Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: