Book reviews by
Shalini

5 Great Alternatives to The Hunger Games and Divergent

For fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent, these five books will keep you on the edge of your seat with their intense power struggles, electrifying romance, and thrilling dystopian worlds. Each one offers a gripping story sure to captivate readers looking for their next great read.

The Selection by Kiera Cass.

Set in Illea, a country that randomly selects teenagers from lower castes to compete for the royal marriage with the crown prince, The Selection by Kiera Cass is definitely one of the top alternatives for The Hunger Games and Divergent fans.

Following the story of seventeen-year-old American Singer, who is reluctantly chosen for The Selection, this Young Adult novel will keep you glued to the page as rebel forces and unexpected friendships develop. The Selection consists of three books, here is the right order of how to read them.

Themes Kiera Cass Loves to write about

 
With an easy-to-consume writing style and a different take on dystopian literature, The Selection captivates the reader’s attention while daring them to explore their own beliefs. Kiera Cass beautifully combines politics, love, and survival strategies in this book to create a world that intrigues readers all around.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner is another thrilling read for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent, featuring a group of teens who must find their way out of a mysterious, ever-changing maze. With danger around every corner, Thomas and his friends must stay alert in order to survive the perils of the maze and uncover the secret that lies at its center. The Maze Runner is part of an exciting series that should not be missed. Check out our in-depth review here.


As Thomas and his companions traverse the increasingly complex corridors of the maze, they must battle deadly creatures known as Grievers. Grievers are a combination of machine and animal – think robotic spider with multiple tails – which serve as guards for the Glade entrance.


Despite their seemingly insurmountable odds, Thomas and his friends remain determined to find their way out of The Maze—discovering more about themselves and the world outside with each passing day.
Through this incredible journey, readers will come to appreciate how courage and determination can put anyone on the path toward experiencing true freedom.

Matched by Ally Condie.

Matched is set in a future society where everything, including love and relationships, is chosen by a central committee. For young Cassia Reyes, a chance encounter leads to a shocking realization: her perfect life has been built on lies. As she ventures into forbidden territory to investigate and uncover the truth, she discovers an alternate version of the society she thought she knew.


Filled with romance and gripping adventure, Matched is sure to be a hit with readers who enjoy stories of discovery and rebellion.


Cassia’s journey into the unknown is reminiscent of the YA classics Divergent and The Hunger Games. Like Beatrice Prior in Divergent, Cassia must confront the lies of her society and build a new life based on truth. And like Katniss Everdeen in The Hunger Games, Cassia finds courage and strength within herself as she fights for justice.


But Matched stands alone as a story that speaks to its readers on issues of love, freedom, identity, and friendship. With allies beside her and ever-present dangers ahead of her, Cassia begins to realize that even in a seemingly perfect world, true happiness means fighting for what you believe in.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

Red Queen follows young Mare Barrow, an impoverished teenager living in a world divided by blood. Red-blooded citizens are poor and have no power, while those possessing silver blood reign supreme. But when Mare discovers a rare power that is found only in silver-blooded people, she must disguise her identity and enter the dangerous Silver Court to survive.


This acclaimed novel is packed with thrilling action, forbidden romance, and unexpected twists that will keep readers on their toes until the end.


If you’re a fan of novels like Divergent and The Hunger Games, then Red Queen is sure to be your next obsession. Like the aforementioned novels, Red Queen features themes of power and oppression, as well as strong female protagonists who rise up against adversity.


It is full of vivid characters and a complex setting that will keep readers immersed until the very end. With its nonstop action and ripping plot twists, this book is sure to become a classic in the dystopian genre.

Legend by Marie Lu.

This bestselling dystopian novel, “Legend” tells the story of two criminal prodigies, June and Day. June is an elite student in the Republic’s highest military academy, while Day has become a dangerous rebel who is wanted by the government. When their paths collide, they must team up to survive in a world that threatens them both with execution or enslavement.


This action-packed thriller will keep readers on the edge of their seats as it unveils a stunning conclusion.

Set in a future Los Angeles, the Republic of America has become a military dictatorship that segregates the rich from the poor. With its themes of class struggles and governmental corruption, “Legend” will make readers appreciate the hunger for justice and freedom.


Packed with gripping action scenes, electrifying plot twists, and sympathetic characters, Legend is one of those books that won’t easily be forgotten. Perfectly mixing thought-provoking themes with suspenseful writing makes it a must-read for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games.


Other Great Alternatives you Might want to look Into


1. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
2. Delirium by Lauren Oliver
3. The Giver by Lois Lowry
4. Across the Universe by Beth Revis






Shalini (1)
My name is Shalini and I love reading a lot. On this blog I review most of the books I have read. Hope you enjoy.
More about me

Search an article

Share it

Newsletter

Subscribe To Our
Newsletter
No spam, notifications only about new products, updates.

Related articles

Book Reviews by Shalini
Book Reviews By Shalini is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. *Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc., or its affiliates.
Copyrights 2023 - Book Reviews by Shalini