Book reviews by
Shalini

7 Must-Read Dystopian Books like Divergent

If you’re a fan of young adult dystopian novels, chances are you’ve devoured The Hunger Games and Divergent series. Both of these books have captured the hearts of readers all around the world with their thrilling action, relatable characters, and poignant messages. But what do you do when you’ve finished these series and are looking for something else to read?

Don’t worry, I’ve got you covered. In this article, I’ll be recommending some of the best books like The Hunger Games and Divergent that are sure to satisfy your craving for more dystopian adventures.

What Makes Divergent Great?

Before we dive into the recommendations, let’s take a moment to talk about what makes Divergent so special. Both of these series are set in oppressive societies where individuals are forced to fight for their survival. They feature strong and relatable protagonists who must navigate complex relationships and grapple with difficult ethical dilemmas. Themes of rebellion, sacrifice, and perseverance run throughout these stories, making them both exciting and thought-provoking reads.

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Now, onto the recommendations. First on our list is Red Rising by Pierce Brown. This novel follows a young man named Darrow who lives in a hierarchical society where the ruling class oppresses the lower classes. Sound familiar? Darrow infiltrates the ruling class and sparks a revolution, leading to a thrilling and action-packed story that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Maze Runner 5 Classics Amazon

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Next up is The Maze Runner by James Dashner. This novel follows a group of teenagers who wake up with no memory of their past in a mysterious and deadly maze. The Maze Runner is a gripping read that explores themes of survival, loyalty, and the corrupting influence of power. Plus, it has a fantastic movie adaptation that’s definitely worth checking out.

Futuristic Utopian Society 1

The Giver by Lois Lowry

If you’re looking for something a little more philosophical, I highly recommend The Giver by Lois Lowry. This novel takes place in a seemingly utopian society where everything is controlled, including people’s emotions and memories. The Giver is a powerful commentary on the dangers of conformity and the importance of individuality, and it’s a must-read for any fan of dystopian literature.

Legend by Marie Lu
Check the latest price on Amazon

Legend by Marie Lu

Last but not least, we have Legend by Marie Lu. This novel takes place in a future version of the United States where the government is corrupt and oppressive. The story follows two protagonists, one from the ruling class and one from the lower class, as they navigate a world of intrigue, danger, and forbidden love. Legend is a thrilling read that explores themes of power, inequality, and the struggle for justice.

Some other recommendations

Of course, there are many other fantastic dystopian novels out there that I haven’t mentioned here. Some honorable mentions include The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken, The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey, and The Hunger Games prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins.

Dystopian Novels like Divergent

Final Words

In conclusion, if you’re a fan of The Hunger Games and Divergent, there are plenty of other great dystopian novels out there waiting for you to discover them. From Red Rising to The Giver to Legend, there’s something for everyone in the world of YA dystopian fiction. So go forth, explore, and find your next great read! Also, check out 5 recommendations like the Hunger Games.

List of all 7 Books Mentioned

  1. Red Rising by Pierce Brown
  2. The Maze Runner by James Dashner
  3. The Giver by Lois Lowry
  4. Legend by Marie Lu
  5. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
  6. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
  7. The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins (prequel to The Hunger Games)

Shalini (1)
My name is Shalini and I love reading a lot. On this blog I review most of the books I have read. Hope you enjoy.
More about me

Search an article

Share it

Newsletter

Subscribe To Our
Newsletter
No spam, notifications only about new products, updates.

Related articles

Book Reviews by Shalini
Book Reviews By Shalini is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. *Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc., or its affiliates.
Copyrights 2024 - Book Reviews by Shalini